The 16th Nantucket Film Festival surpassed attendance of previous years with record-breaking sales and sold out events.

The five-day festival, ending on Sunday, June 26, presented 55 features and shorts including the “Cars 2” premiere for the East Coast.

The festival also had an All Star Comedy Roundtable, featuring Seth Meyers, Ben Stiller and Jerry Seinfeld, and a Screenwriting Tribute to Academy Award winner Paul Haggis.

Other events such as Late Night Storytelling with co-hosts Mike O’Malley and Anne Meara and In Their Shoes panels with Paul Haggis were also well attended.

The following awards were distributed at the festival:

Showtime’s Tony Cox Screenplay Competition: Kaitlin McLaughlin (The Murphys)
Showtime’s Tony Cox Award for Screenwriting: J.C. Chandor (Margin Call)
Showtime’s Tony Cox Award for Screenwriting (Best Short): Lake Bell (Worst Enemy)
Adrienne Shelley Excellence in Filmmaking Award: Amy Wendel (Benevides Born)
Best Writer/Director: Paddy Considine (Tyrannosaur)
Best Storytelling in a Documentary Film: Marc H. Simon (Unraveled)
Audience Award for Best Feature (TIE): To Be Heard (dirs. Amy Sultan, Deborah Shaffer, Roland Legiardi-Laura, Edwin Martinez) & Being Elmo (dir. Constance Marks)
Audience Award for Best Short: Thief (dir. Julian Higgins)
Teen View on NFF Award: Lest We Forget (dir. Chris Godfrey)

About The Author

Miya Williams is a Blast Magazine editor-at-large

Leave a Reply