Based in Boston, the Irish punk rock band Dropkick Murphys will release their seventh studio album “Going Out In Style” on March 1st.While there are more than 8,000,000 rock bands in the world, it is still incredibly difficult to find outstanding bands out there. However, without adoubt, Dropkick Murphys is one of them.

Their passionately destructive music is based on a unique combination of a powerful voice of Al Barr, a strong bass line by Ken Casey, significant and unique chords by Tim Brennan (accordion, whistles), Jeff DaRosa (banjo, bouzouki, mandolin, harmonica) and James Lynch (guitars). Throw in a stable melody line of bagpipes performed by Scruffy Wallace, and aggressive drum beats produced by Matt Kelly and you have a creative and magic blend of Irish folk rock and punk rock, which make their music unique.

The record starts with an energetic typical Dropkick Murphys styled tune “Hang ‘Em High.” The title song “Going Out In Style” reminded me of “Captain Kelly’s Kitchen” from the album “The Warrior’s Code” because of the way Barr and Casey alternate on main vocals. It’s an interesting listen, as moment by moment since their voice qualities and singing styles are different. While Casey’s voice is uplifting, warm, and strong, Barr’s voice is aggressive as we can see the veins and blood vessels on his neck when he performs live.

Melodic track “Broken Hymns” is based on lightly rhythmical drum beats, which gives the listeners a whole new impression of the band. The unstoppably fun tune “Take ‘Em Down” focuses on the social consciousness and unwavering support for organized labor, but the song is filled with soulful excitement, despite the fact that they are singing, “Let them know, we gotta take our bastards down.” The song would possibly energize you before going to a stressful workplace a.k.a. ‘battlefield’ every morning.

One of the record’s highlights is Bruce Springsteen’s guest vocals featured in the old standard tune “Peg O’ My Heart.” The collaboration makes the song refreshing and vigorous. The catchy tune is bright and fun, especially after the slow-moving comfortable song “1953,” which is built on a consistently solid bagpipe melody with unified vocal harmonies. (No one is shouting in this song.)

Throughout the record, the Dropkick Murphys’ actively fast-paced energy is exploding so that some people might be able to feel as if they are watching the band performing live.

Track list

  1. Hang ‘Em High
  2. Going Out In Style
  3. The Hardest Mile
  4. Cruel
  5. Memorial Day
  6. Climbing A Chair To Bed
  7. Broken Hymns
  8. Deeds Not Words
  9. Take ‘Em Down
  10. Sunday Hardcore Matinee
  11. 1953
  12. Peg O’ My Heart
  13. The Irish Rover

They are going back on the road soon, and of course will dominate the Boston’s House of Blues on the St. Patrick’s week this year too.

Show schedule in the United States

February 23       Niagara Falls, NY              The Rapids Theatre

February 24        Detroit, MI                         The Fillmore

February 25        Milwaukee, WI                   Bradley Center

February 26        Chicago, IL                         Congress Theater

February 27        Chicago, IL                          Congress Theater

March 1               Denver, CO                        The Fillmore

March 2              Kansas City, MO                The Beaumont Club

March 3               Minneapolis, MN               First Avenue

March 4               Des Moines, IA                   Val Air Ballroom

March 5               St. Louis, MO                     The Pageant

March 6               Cleveland, OH                    House Of Blues

March 8               Philadelphia, PA                 Electric Factory

March 9              Philadelphia, PA                 Electric Factory

March 10              New York, NY                 Roseland Ballroom

March 11               New York, NY                Roseland Ballroom

March 12             Washington, DC              Shamrock Fest at RFK Stadium

March 13              Uncasville, CT               Mohegan Sun Arena

March 16             Boston, MA                   House Of Blues

March 17               Boston, MA                   House Of Blues

March 18              Boston, MA                    House Of Blues

March 19               Lowell, MA                    Tsongas Arena

About The Author

Eiko Watanabe is a Blast staff writer in New York

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.