It my not reflect the national outlook, but it seems like every Democrat on every ballot in Massachusetts won Tuesday night.

Governor Deval Patrick won a second term against Republican Charlie Baker and independent Tim Cahill and Green Rainbow Party candidate Jill Stein.

Incumbent Democrats John Oliver, Richard Neal, Jim McGovern, Ed Markey, Niki Tsongas, and Stephen Lynch easily won reelection.

Mike Capuano was unopposed.

Thirty-year veteran Barney Frank held off Sean Bielat.

Incumbent John Tierney defeated the Tea Party-endorsed Republican Bill Hudak.

In the closest race, Norfolk District Attorney Bill Keating defeated former Wareham Police Sergeant Jeff Perry, who never shook off a scandal from the 90s involving an officer under his command molesting a teenage girl. Keating won the seat vacated by the retiring William Delahunt of Quincy.

“Tonight’s clean sweep underscores that despite massive outside spending and prevailing political winds, Massachusetts Democrats win when they take nothing for granted, fight hard, and stand proud of the people and values they represent,” said US Senator John Kerry, who is not up for election for another four years. “Deval Patrick, Tim Murray, Barney Frank, Bill Keating, and many, many others reminded Massachusetts tonight that some things really are worth fighting for, and that’s a big big lesson not just for Democrats but for everyone, everywhere.”

Massachusetts Republican Party Chairman Jennifer Nassour released the following statement Tuesday evening:

“Tonight the Massachusetts Republican Party made significant gains in the Legislature. Changing the color of Massachusetts to purple won’t happen overnight. The important fact is that entrenched incumbents, who often fly beneath the radar, had to stand up to public scrutiny this election cycle. I’m proud of our GOP candidates who worked hard and focused on important issues like creating jobs, lowering taxes, and reducing government spending.”

In other races, Attorney General Martha Coakley and Secretary of State Bill Galvin, both Democrats, handily won reelection.

In the state treasurer race vacated by Tim Cahill, who ran as an independent for governor, Steve Grossman defeated Karen Polito, who was caught in a late scandal involving Red Sox license plates.

In two other senate races, Democrat Richard Blumenthal defeated former wrestling executive Linda McMahon in Connecticut, and Democrat Christopher Coons defeated Christine O’Donnell in Delaware.

But Republicans are projected to take over the House as many other national races are tallied.

About The Author

John Guilfoil is the editor-in-chief of Blast: Boston's Online Magazine and the Blast Magazine Network. He can be reached at [email protected]. Tweet @johnguilfoil.

Leave a Reply