Bon Jovi, Neil Diamond and LL Cool J highlight this year’s class of nominees for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, the hall announced Tuesday morning.

Ballots will be sent to more than 500 voters from the music industry who will select the inductees. They will be announced in December the induction ceremony to be held on March 14, 2011 at the Waldorf Astoria hotel in New York.

The eventual inductees will join the 92 groups and 196 individual acts that already in the Hall.

The other this year’s nominees are Alice Cooper, The Beastie Boys, Chic, Donovan, Dr. John, Boston’s own J. Geils Band, Darlene Love, Laura Nyro, Donna Summer, Joe Tex, Tom Waits and Chuck Willis.

Last year’s inductees included Abba, Otis Blackwell, Jimmy Cliff, David Geffen, Genesis, Ellie Greenwich and Jeff Barry, The Hollies, Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, Mort Shuman, Jesse Stone and The Stooges.

Musician must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination in order to be eligible for nomination.

About The Author

Eiko Watanabe is a Blast staff writer in New York

Leave a Reply